2

As part of my creation of a tropical growth room to grow some vanilla orchids, I was wondering if anybody knew the optimal conditions to grow this plant.

I would need:

  1. Humidity
  2. Temperature
  3. Watering levels
  4. Daylight hours

Thank you very much, Tropical.

3

On the care and requirements of Vanilla planfolia

  • Humidity: Over 50% is optimal. These plants thrive in very high humidity. However, steam is a little much. Try to keep it between 50 and 90% rh. 65-70% is ideal.

  • Temperature: Vanilla planfolia likes a daytime temperature of 80-85 degrees Fahrenheit, while at night, they prefer a temperature of 60-65 degrees Fahrenheit.

  • Watering levels: If the plant is in a potting medium, keep it moist at all times, if growing on a substrate, the plants roots and areal roots should be sprayed often, and never allowed to dry out. The leaves can occasionally be sprayed also.

  • Daylight hours: The plant requires 1500-3000 foot-candles all day, and in nature this will be 12-16 hours per day.

References:

  1. Home Guides: http://homeguides.sfgate.com/care-vanilla-bean-orchid-54771.html
  2. Orchid Flowers: http://orchidflowers.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/tips-to-grow-vanilla-plant/
  3. Akatsuka Orchid Gardens: http://www.akatsukaorchid.com/store/pg/51-Vanilla-Orchid-Care.aspx
  4. Carter and Holmes Orchids: http://carterandholmes.com/vanillacare.html
  5. OrchidTalk Forum: http://www.rv-orchidworks.com/orchidtalk/general-orchid-culture/11473-growing-vanilla-planifolia.html
  6. About.com: http://flowers.about.com/od/OrchidFlowers/p/Vanilla-Orchid-Care-The-Vanilla-Bean-Plant.htm
  7. Doityourself.com: http://www.doityourself.com/stry/caring-for-your-vanilla-bean-plant#b
  8. Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden: http://www.fairchildgarden.org/livingcollections/tropicalfruitprogram/jackfruit/vanilla-Orchild/
  9. Everything Orchids: http://everything-orchids.com/types-of-orchids/vanilla-orchid
  10. Orchid Care Tips: http://www.orchid-care-tips.com/vanilla-orchid.html
  11. OrchidCareLady.com: http://www.orchidcarelady.com/orchids-care-and-maintenance-tips-vanilla-orchids/
  12. Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanilla
  13. vanillaplantations.com: http://www.vanillaplantations.com/cultivation.htm
  14. Orchids Made Easy: http://www.orchidsmadeeasy.com/vanilla-orchid/
  15. Vegetable Gardener: http://www.vegetablegardener.com/item/12993/the-vanilla-bean-orchid
  16. Gardening Know How: http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/orchids/grow-vanilla-orchid.htm

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.